Mobile Security image
Glass Business Building
Govermental-style greek architecture
Slide: Consumer


Through the APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules (CBPR) System, participating businesses and governments across the region are working together to ensure that when your personal information moves across borders, it is protected to the standards prescribed by the APEC Privacy Framework.

Slide: Business


The APEC CBPR System bridges differing national privacy laws within the APEC region, reducing barriers to the flow of information for global trade.

Slide: Government


Participation in the APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules (CBPR) System affords Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation members a unique opportunity to work with their counterparts throughout the region

previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow


The APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules (CBPR) System was developed by APEC economies with input and assistance from industry and civil society to build consumer, business and regulator trust in cross border flows of personal information. The APEC CBPR System requires participating businesses to implement data privacy policies consistent with the APEC Privacy Framework. These policies and practices must be assessed as compliant with the program requirements of the APEC CBPR System by an Accountability Agent (an independent APEC CBPR system recognised public or private sector entity) and be enforceable by law. 


Cross-border data flows are a vital part of our vibrant and growing digital economy in… 


The ability to transfer information across country borders is a fundamental…


Participation in the APEC CBPRs affords APEC members a unique opportunity…

Compliance Directory

A directory of organisations certified as CBPR-Compliant published by…

About CBPRs

The APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules (CBPR) System, endorsed by APEC Leaders in 2011, is a voluntary, accountability-based system that facilitates privacy-respecting data flows among APEC economies. 

There are currently nine participating APEC CBPR system economies: USA, Mexico, Japan, Canada, Singapore, the Republic of Korea, Australia, Chinese Taipei and the Philippines with more expected to join soon.