For full functionality of this site it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

About the APEC CBPR system

The APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules (CBPR) System, endorsed by APEC Leaders in 2011, is a voluntary, accountability-based system that facilitates privacy-respecting data flows among APEC economies. It has four main components:

  • recognition criteria for organisations wishing to become an APEC CBPR System certified Accountability Agent;
  • an intake questionnaire for organisations that wish to be certified as APEC CBPR System compliant by a third-party CBPR system certified Accountability Agent;
  • assessment criteria for use by APEC CBPR System certified Accountability Agents when reviewing an organisation's answers to the intake questionnaire; and
  • a regulatory cooperative arrangement (the CPEA) to ensure that each of the APEC CBPR system program requirements can be enforced by participating APEC economies.

The Joint Oversight Panel (JOP) administers the APEC CBPR system. Decisions about an organisation's eligibility to be an Accountability Agent are made by APEC economies.

There are currently six participating APEC CBPR system economies: USA, Mexico, Japan, Canada, Singapore, and the Republic of Korea with more expected to join soon.